Delete a device

This guide will teach you how to stop your device from ingesting data to your organization, and how to delete it entirely.

Deprovision a device

๐Ÿ‘

Follow these steps if you want to maintain this device entity in your Formant organization. You will later be able to reprovision this device, and future data will be associated with the same device, along with its associated tags and metadata.

You can deactivate the Formant agent on a provisioned device. This will stop the device from ingesting data, but will keep the device in your organization.

To deprovision a device:

  1. In Formant, in the upper-left corner, open the menu and go to Settings >> Devices.
  2. Navigate to the device you want to deprovision. Click the three dots next to the device, and click Reprovision.
  3. You will see a message warning you that this workflow will revoke your device's provisioning token. Click OK.

If you stop the process here, your device will remain in your Formant organization, but will not have an active provisioning token, and will not be able to ingest data.

Delete a device

โ—๏ธ

Deleting a device is a permanent action. All metadata (tags, configuration, etc.) associated with this device will be lost. If you want to re-add a device, you'll have to create and configure it again, and it will be considered as a new device in Formant.

  1. In Formant, in the upper-left corner, open the menu and click Settings.
  2. In the sidebar, click Devices.
  3. Navigate to the device you want to delete. Click the three dots next to the device, and then Delete device.
  4. Click Delete to confirm the deletion.

๐Ÿ‘‹

If you notice an issue with this page or need help, please reach out to us! Use the 'Did this page help you?' buttons below, or get in contact with our Customer Success team via the Intercom messenger in the bottom-right corner of this page, or at [email protected].